How can we encourage local purchasing and sustainable procurement to encourage a sustainable economic recovery?

Challenge proposed by

Challenge award: $5,000
+ accompaniment from PME MTL experts

Challenge award: $5,000

+ accompaniment from PME MTL experts


This challenge is tied to the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals:


This challenge is tied to the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals:

Background

The COVID crisis has revealed the fragility of the entrepreneurship ecosystem. Businesses that had already made a commitment to protect the environment and thought about their supply chains seem to have performed better than others.1 Although the current situation, when companies’ very survival is at risk, makes it hard to implement or maintain environmental policies or measures, it could also trigger accelerated implementation of environmental measures and best practices while creating a more stable entrepreneurship ecosystem.2 It’s the perfect opportunity to think about what will make companies resilient after COVID.

One of the 3 objectives of the City of Montreal’s economic recovery plan is to support green and inclusive economic development. Buying and sourcing locally, socially and responsibly can get a variety of communities and stakeholders to engage: consumers could change their habits, businesses could rethink their B2B partnerships and services, manufacturers could transform their supply chains and governments could modify their procurement policies.

Of the 4,000 companies backed by the PME MTL network in 2019, 380 received assistance with industrial and sustainable development and 187 were provided support on sustainable development practices. The pandemic adversely affected all Montreal businesses, many of which reinvented themselves and began to pivot their businesses. PME MTL is proud of the Montreal ecosystem’s efforts and wants to encourage more people and entrepreneurs to continue thinking about the business models we want to see post-COVID.

In the context of Cooperathon 2020, PME MTL is seeking:

innovative solutions to address sustainable purchasing and supply chains in a post-crisis environment. The Montreal organization is asking competitors to focus on solutions that develop one of the following areas:

  • Encouraging sustainable supply chains (production; low-carbon shipping; short supply chains; services, purchasing and consumption) to respond to environmental challenges among companies, governments and consumers.
  • Promoting local and responsible purchasing or socially conscious purchasing, especially through community solidarity and engagement and resilient local food systems with respect to the Quebec’s strategy to encourage local food buying3.
  • Addressing challenges related to public tenders (municipal, provincial and federal) to promote local, social and responsible procurement that looks beyond the lowest bid in an environment where the government has set “buy local” targets.
  • Creating patterns of cooperation and collaboration, including circular economy projects, using innovative and resilient business models, whether within the same industry, between 2 or more existing businesses or through vertical integration.

Your project will help PME MTL and the City of Montreal pursue a green recovery through solutions that promote sustainable supply chains and support buying local. After the Cooperathon, PME MTL wants to support the most promising major projects aimed at meeting this challenge.

3. The new Stratégie nationale d’achat d’aliments québécois : Pour une alimentation locale dans les institutions publiques aims to have 85% of targeted Quebec public institutions set a goal for buying Quebec food products by 2023.
https://cdn-contenu.quebec.ca/cdn-contenu/adm/min/agriculture-pecheries-alimentation/publications-adm/strategie/PO_strategie_achat_aliments_quebecois_MAPAQ.pdf?1600785231

Statistics, Data and articles

Unlock this information on the participants’ platform (global) by registering to Cooperathon 2020

Tackle this challenge and let the adventure begin!

Let your network discover this challenge:

Let your network discover this challenge:

Use hashtag : #cooperathon20

Use hashtag : #cooperathon20

We connect passion and talent, communities and academics. Together we develop a socially responsible future.

“Cooperathon” is a Trademark of the Fédération des caisses Desjardins du Québec.

Cooperathon @ FacebookCooperathon @ InstagramCooperathon @ TwitterCooperathon @ YouTubeCooperathon @ Linkedin

Subscribe to the Cooperathon Newsletter

Subscribe to the Cooperathon Newsletter

We connect passion and talent, communities and academics. Together we develop a socially responsible future.

“Cooperathon” is a Trademark of the Fédération des caisses Desjardins du Québec.

Cooperathon @ FacebookCooperathon @ InstagramCooperathon @ TwitterCooperathon @ YouTubeCooperathon @ Linkedin

Comment miser sur l’achat local et l’approvisionnement soutenable pour encourager une relance économique durable ?

Défi proposé par

Prix défi : 5 000 $
+ accompagnement des experts PME MTL

Prix défi : 5 000 $

+ accompagnement des experts PME MTL


Ce défi s’inscrit dans le cadre des objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies:


Ce défi s’inscrit dans le cadre des objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies :

Contexte

La crise du COVID a permis de constater la fragilité de l’écosystème entrepreneurial. Les entreprises ayant déjà pris des engagements environnementaux et réfléchi à leurs chaînes d’approvisionnement semblent s’en être tirées plus favorablement que d’autres1. Bien que le contexte actuel rend difficile le maintien ou l’implantation de mesures ou politiques environnementales alors que la survie même de l’entreprise est en péril, il peut aussi agir comme catalyseur pour accélérer l’implantation de mesures environnementales et de meilleures pratiques tout en créant un écosystème entrepreneurial plus solide2. C’est une opportunité en or de réfléchir aux entreprises résilientes de l’après-COVID.

Le plan de relance économique de la Ville de Montréal a comme un de ses trois objectifs de soutenir un développement vert et inclusif. L’achat et l’approvisionnement local, social et responsable peuvent susciter l’engagement de plusieurs publics et d’une variété d’acteurs : les citoyens et consommateurs dans leurs habitudes, les entreprises dans leurs partenariats B2B et leurs services, les manufacturiers dans la chaîne logistique et les gouvernements dans leurs politiques d’approvisionnement.

En 2019, le réseau PME MTL a accompagné 380 entreprises en développement industriel et durable et 187 entreprises en pratiques en développement durable sur un total de 4000 entreprises accompagnées. L’ensemble des entreprises montréalaises ont souffert de la pandémie, plusieurs se sont réinventées et ont entamé un pivot au sein de leur entreprise. Fier des efforts de l’écosystème montréalais, PME MTL souhaite inciter davantage de porteurs de projets et entrepreneurs à pousser la réflexion plus loin pour réfléchir aux modèles d’affaires que nous souhaitons voir émerger Post-COVID.

Dans le cadre du Coopérathon 2020, PME MTL est à la recherche de :

Solutions innovantes afin d’aborder les enjeux thématiques de l’achat et l’approvisionnement soutenable dans un contexte post crise. L’institution montréalaise suggère aux participants de la compétition de focaliser leur solution au développement d’un des axes suivants :

  • Encourager les chaînes d’approvisionnement soutenables (production, livraisons décarbonées en circuit court, service, achat et consommation) pour répondre aux enjeux environnementaux autant au niveau des entreprises, des gouvernements que des citoyens et consommateurs
  • Favoriser l’achat local et responsable ou l’achat social, notamment par la mobilisation et la solidarité collective et par la résilience du système alimentaire local, par rapport à la stratégie national d’achat d’aliments3
    Solutionner les enjeux d’octroi d’appels d’offre (municipaux, provinciaux et fédéraux) afin de favoriser l’achat local, social et responsable au-delà du plus bas soumissionnaire dans un contexte où le gouvernement a fixé des cibles d’achat local
  • Créer des dynamiques de coopération et de collaboration, incluant des projets d’économie circulaire, dans des modèles d’affaires innovants et résilients, dans une même industrie, entre entreprises existantes (2 ou plus) ou à travers l’intégration verticale

Votre projet permettra à PME MTL et la Ville de Montréal continuer dans le but de voir émerger de cette relance verte en visant de solutions favorisant l’achat local et l’approvisionnement soutenable. PME MTL souhaite accompagner et soutenir les projets les plus porteurs et structurants qui vont choisir ce défi après le Coopérathon.

3. The new Stratégie nationale d’achat d’aliments québécois : Pour une alimentation locale dans les institutions publiques aims to have 85% of targeted Quebec public institutions set a goal for buying Quebec food products by 2023.
https://cdn-contenu.quebec.ca/cdn-contenu/adm/min/agriculture-pecheries-alimentation/publications-adm/strategie/PO_strategie_achat_aliments_quebecois_MAPAQ.pdf?1600785231

Statistiques, données et articles

Déverrouillez ces informations sur la plateforme des participants (Global) en vous inscrivant au Cooperathon 2020

Répondez à ce défi et démarrez l’aventure !

Faites découvrir ce défi à votre réseau :

Faites découvrir ce défi à votre réseau :

Utilisez l’hashtag : #cooperathon20

Utilisez l’hashtag : #cooperathon20

Connecter la passion, le talent, les institutions, les communautés et l’académique pour développer ensemble un futur socialement responsable.

« Coopérathon » est une marque de commerce propriété de la Fédération des caisses Desjardins du Québec.

Cooperathon @ FacebookCooperathon @ InstagramCooperathon @ TwitterCooperathon @ YouTubeCooperathon @ Linkedin

Abonnez-vous à l’infolettre Coopérathon

Abonnez-vous à l’infolettre Coopérathon

Connecter la passion, le talent, les institutions, les communautés et l’académique pour développer ensemble un futur socialement responsable.

« Coopérathon » est une marque de commerce propriété de la Fédération des caisses Desjardins du Québec.

Cooperathon @ FacebookCooperathon @ InstagramCooperathon @ TwitterCooperathon @ YouTubeCooperathon @ Linkedin