How can we accelerate the adoption of clean and energy efficient solutions within the Canadian economy?

Challenge proposed by


This challenge is tied to the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals:


This challenge is tied to the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals:

Background

To prevent catastrophic climate change, the global energy system must move toward net-zero carbon emission targets. This energy transition will require significant changes to many sectors (e.g. industrial, building, transportation, agricultural), but will also drive sustainable, long-term, economic growth and improve quality of life around the globe.

The type of problem we want to solve or an opportunity we want to create

In the lifecycle of technology adoption, there are four key aspects: research, development, demonstration, and deployment. While there is a lot of focus on the beginning of this process, the latter stages are equally important. Scaling up and deploying technologies is especially challenging when the technologies in question are designed to solve problems that don’t have immediate tangible benefits, as is the case with technologies that reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

Technologies reducing carbon emissions exist, yet the adoption rate of such cleantech and energy efficiency measures has not been rapid enough to cause significant reductions in energy use, especially given the increase in energy demand due to factors like a growing Canadian building stock. Taking the example of heat pumps: Between 1990 and 2017, their proportion of residential sector space heating systems only increased by 4.1%, displacing mostly oil-based heating, despite being a proven, highly efficient technology.

The slow adoption and integration of clean energy technology can be attributed to a variety of factors, including low public awareness and knowledge, low confidence in the technology, or a weak economic case relative to more conventional, carbon-emitting technologies. This challenge aims to look at promising clean and energy efficient solutions and how to facilitate their wide-scale deployment and diffusion.

Defining the need for innovative solutions

Some promising clean technologies have been in development or demonstration for decades and are still unable to break through into the deployment phase of technology adoption where they could help in achieving net-zero carbon emission targets. So far, approaches to the adoption of these technologies have been largely based around supportive government interventions that have varied significantly depending on the political climate. Considering the slow pace of adoption so far, relying on this strategy alone will be insufficient to bring these technologies into wide-scale deployment, so different, innovative solutions must be sought out to facilitate and accelerate their deployment.

These solutions must help overcome technology adoption inertia through strategies such as cost-competitiveness through economies of scale, increased public and market awareness, dissemination of best practices, improved market structure, and revisited regulatory frameworks.

In the context of Cooperathon 2020, the CanmetENERGY research centre in Varennes is looking for innovative solutions in order to:

  1. Incentivize consumers to become prosumers by leveraging potential in distributed energy resources like distributed solar PV systems and electric vehicles by:
    1. Investigating new market approaches;
    2. Designing new interactive tools;
    3. Challenging existing rate structures;
    4. Creating programs for electric utilities to adopt in communities and/or specific sectors.
  1. Drive the decarbonization of Canadian buildings by:
    1. Raising the energy awareness of building owners by providing them with accessible tools to better understand and benchmark their energy use and performance;
    2. Developing tools and strategies to identify and disseminate best practices and successful concrete solutions for buildings energy reduction at the regional or local level;
    3. Proposing business models and innovative approaches to stimulate the adoption and scaling of energy efficient technologies in buildings.

Statistics and Data

Unlock this information on the participants’ platform (global) by registering to Cooperathon 2020

Let the adventure begin!

Transform your ideas into impactful innovations!

We connect passion and talent, communities and academics. Together we develop a socially responsible future.

“Cooperathon” is a Trademark of the Fédération des caisses Desjardins du Québec.

Cooperathon @ FacebookCooperathon @ InstagramCooperathon @ TwitterCooperathon @ YouTubeCooperathon @ Linkedin

Subscribe to the Cooperathon Newsletter

Subscribe to the Cooperathon Newsletter

We connect passion and talent, communities and academics. Together we develop a socially responsible future.

“Cooperathon” is a Trademark of the Fédération des caisses Desjardins du Québec.

Cooperathon @ FacebookCooperathon @ InstagramCooperathon @ TwitterCooperathon @ YouTubeCooperathon @ Linkedin

Comment pouvons-nous accélérer l’adoption de solutions propres et écoénergétiques au sein de l’économie canadienne ?

Défi proposé par


Ce défi s’inscrit dans le cadre des objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies:


Ce défi s’inscrit dans le cadre des objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies :

Contexte

Afin de prévenir des changements climatiques catastrophiques, le système énergétique mondial doit viser la carboneutralité. Cette transition énergétique nécessitera des changements importants dans bon nombre de secteurs (l’industrie, le bâtiment, les transports et l’agriculture), mais permettra une croissance économique à long terme durable et améliorera la qualité de vie de tous les habitants de notre planète.

Le type de problème que nous voulons résoudre ou une occasion que nous voulons créer ?

Le cycle d’adoption des technologies compte quatre grands volets : recherche, développement, démonstration et déploiement. Bien que l’accent soit souvent mis sur le début du processus, les derniers stades sont tout aussi importants. Le déploiement à grande échelle d’une technologie est d’autant plus difficile quand ses avantages ne sont pas immédiatement apparents, ce qui est le cas pour tout ce qui touche à la réduction d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

Les méthodes de réduction des émissions de CO2 existent, mais le rythme d’adoption des technologies propres et des mesures d’efficacité énergétiques n’est pas suffisant pour réduire la consommation d’énergie de façon importante. Ce phénomène est amplifié par la forte croissance du parc immobilier canadien. Par exemple, les thermopompes ont une efficacité énergétique reconnue. Et pourtant, leur part de marché pour les systèmes de chauffage résidentiels n’a augmenté que de 4.1% en presque 30 ans (entre 1990-2017).

Cette lenteur d’adoption et d’intégration de solutions énergétiques propres peut être attribuée à une variété de facteurs, dont une faible sensibilisation des citoyens aux solutions existantes, le manque de confiance à l’égard de ces technologies ou des arguments économiques peu probants par rapport aux technologies émettrices de carbone traditionnelles. Ce défi s’intéresse à des solutions propres, éco-énergétiques et aux moyens de faciliter leur déploiement à grande échelle.

Établir les besoins en matière de solutions novatrices

Certaines technologies propres, pourtant prometteuses, sont encore au stade de développement ou de démonstration depuis des décennies et ne peuvent passer à l’étape du déploiement et ainsi contribuer à atteindre les cibles de carboneutralité. Jusqu’à présent, l’adoption de ces technologies dépend beaucoup d’interventions gouvernementales, elles-mêmes en grande partie tributaires du climat politique. La lenteur du processus confirme que cette stratégie ne peut à elle seule permettre à ces technologies d’être déployées à grande échelle. Par conséquent, des solutions différentes, novatrices, doivent être mises de l’avant pour faciliter et accélérer ce déploiement.

Ces solutions devront briser l’inertie qui freine l’adoption de ces technologies au moyen de stratégies comme l’établissement de prix concurrentiels par des économies d’échelle, une plus grande sensibilisation du public et du marché, la diffusion de pratiques exemplaires, l’amélioration de la structure du marché et la révision des cadres réglementaires.

Dans le cadre du Coopérathon 2020, le centre de recherche de CanmetÉNERGIE à Varennes aimerait se faire proposer des solutions novatrices pour :

  1. Inciter les consommateurs à devenir des prosommateurs en tirant profit de ressources énergétiques décentralisées, comme les systèmes solaires photovoltaïques décentralisés et les véhicules électriques en :
    1. étudiant de nouvelles approches du marché 
    2. concevant de nouveaux outils interactifs 
    3. remettant en question les structures tarifaires existantes 
    4. créant des programmes que les compagnies d’électricité pourront adopter dans des collectivités et/ou des secteurs précis.
  1. Accélérer la décarbonisation des bâtiments canadiens en :
    1. sensibilisant leurs propriétaires à l’aide d’outils accessibles qui leur permettront de mieux comprendre et comparer leur utilisation et leur rendement énergétiques 
    2. élaborant des outils et des stratégies pour cibler et diffuser des pratiques exemplaires et des solutions concrètes et éprouvées afin de réduire la consommation énergétique des bâtiments à l’échelle locale ou régionale 
    3. proposant des modèles d’affaires et des approches novatrices pour stimuler l’adoption et la mise à l’échelle des technologies écoénergétiques dans les bâtiments.

Statistiques et données

Déverrouillez ces informations sur la plateforme des participants (Global) en en vous inscrivant au Cooperathon 2020

Démarrez l’aventure

Transformez vos idées en innovations d’impact !

Connecter la passion, le talent, les institutions, les communautés et l’académique pour développer ensemble un futur socialement responsable.

« Coopérathon » est une marque de commerce propriété de la Fédération des caisses Desjardins du Québec.

Cooperathon @ FacebookCooperathon @ InstagramCooperathon @ TwitterCooperathon @ YouTubeCooperathon @ Linkedin

Abonnez-vous à l’infolettre Coopérathon

Abonnez-vous à l’infolettre Coopérathon

Connecter la passion, le talent, les institutions, les communautés et l’académique pour développer ensemble un futur socialement responsable.

« Coopérathon » est une marque de commerce propriété de la Fédération des caisses Desjardins du Québec.

Cooperathon @ FacebookCooperathon @ InstagramCooperathon @ TwitterCooperathon @ YouTubeCooperathon @ Linkedin